Tastes, Sights and Sounds of India

One of my experiences in Costa Rica taught me that fear is relative and I can quickly adapt to my environment. When I first arrived, everything about Delhi was overwhelming. The traffic, pollution, the people, (in)ability to trust anyone with simple things I take for granted at home, remembering to brush my teeth with bottled water and a long, long list of other things. But now after all this time in the city, it’s starting to seem less unusual. So when I hear the surprised comments from my classmates I think oh yeah, that is unusual or risky or whatever. Another explanation might be that I’m just tired of feeling overwhelmed. I am definitely Thankful today is my last day in Delhi. Tonight my class and I are moving on to Mumbai.

Did something very adventurous this morning. Time will tell if it was a dumb move too. Six of us went to old Delhi (Chawri Bazaar) to meet up with Delhi Food Tour guide Anubhav. I didn’t even know what I signed up for. Lol. We spent from 9:00am to 1:30pm roaming the streets and alleys of Old Delhi tasting some of the delicacies prepared by generations of Bawarchies. Bawarchies are cooks or caterers. Deep into the belly of old Delhi, we roamed through streets to try stuffed parathas, bedmi puris, biryanis, halwa, lassi, and a host of other delicious food. Many of the restaurants have been serving their speciality food for generations (I’m talking 200 years). On my own I would never even walk into these alleys never mind eat the food. But the 22days of overwhelmingly living cautiously, I decided to dive right in and enjoy what I could. It was awesome! Everything on the no-no list was on the lets try list. The only two items I didn’t try were ‘paya’ (goat feet) and “nehari” (bone marrow I think). I don’t do slippery or slimy. Doesn’t matter how good it tastes.

Hope you like the photos. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Before we met up with my class, the last city Jer and I toured was Varanasi, famous for its location besides the holy River Ganges and its Benarasi Silk Fabrics. Needless to say I was happily looking forward to some shopping. I bought a beautiful white Saree with gold work, all hand woven – a classic Benarasi Saree and pattern. We had visited a factory, met a master weaver and I bought the Saree from the factory store. The experience in itself was priceless.

The other priceless experience was the evening and morning “Aarti”, Hindu prayer offerings to the Ganges, that we watched from a boat at the Ghats (Stairs near the river bank). I’ll let the videos and photos do the talking.

Off we are to the city that never sleeps, the city of Slumdog Millionnaire, film city, Mumbai.

Cheerios!

2015/01/img_2549.jpg

2015/01/img_2550.jpg

2015/01/img_2552.jpg

2015/01/img_2563.jpg

2015/01/img_2562.jpg

2015/01/img_2564.jpg

2015/01/img_2557.jpg

2015/01/img_2554.jpg

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Now thats lots of sweets ! And you should be fine too 🙂
    Enjoy your stay in Mumbai

  2. Dominique says:

    Dear Sayma 🙂

    What a great time you had in Delhi! I love your food tasting tour. I would have done it too! I love all the amazing pictures you took. Reading your blog and seeing all the photos makes me feel like I am there with you. I keep telling Armando about your experiences and he loves seeing the photos too. We are curious if you do end up trying the goat feet? LOL Have fun, stay safe and enjoy every moment. You are doing so great! Love Domi, Armando, Bella and Ivy

  3. Hey Domi – so great to hear from you. I did not eat the goat feet. A few of my classmates did, one of them gagged. lol

Leave a Reply

